Monday, November 30, 2009

blog 8

Walk into the store, notice the ambience, the lighting, the music, the salespeople, the mannequins,
What do they convey?
Who does it cater to?
Who is shopping? Age group, description.
How helpful are the sales staff?
What works and what should they be doing differently?

When i walked into hot topic the ambiance and lighting was dim and dark with rock music playing through out the store the sales people weren't very outgoing, the mannequins were decorated with tutus and fishnet leggings. Some in long coats and leather. They convey a sort of gothic theme.
Hot topic caters to emu and people that are looking for a different look some girls buy accessories from this store. A lot of white teens and african american teenage girls shop at hot topic. Hot topic could hire more out going and customer friendly staff

Sunday, October 25, 2009

assignment #5

I dont have much time during my day to watch TV or enjoy the luxuries of media but for the sake of this assignment i watched a couple television shows friday and saturday during my free-time.

Friday: watched 2 hours of monk, 1 hour season premier of white collar, 30 second wendy's commercial, 2 hours of facebook, 30 minutes of playing spades on pogo.com

Saturday: 20 minutes of facebook 30 sec mac book commercial, 3hours of florida vs mississippi state game, 30 second toyota commercial

Sunday, October 4, 2009

assignment #4

Non alcoholic beverages
crystal light is a non alcoholic beverage targeting teens and mostly middle aged women because of its healthy ingredients for women and great taste

Fast food
burger kings target audience is unlimited because everyone can have it their way

Shoes
air force ones target urban teens and adults


Monday, September 14, 2009

Assignment #3

1. A few things about advertising that i learned from these videos are how ad companies use alot of emotion to appeal to customers. During the planning process the consumers are the main focus on communicating with buyers on more than a logical level.

2. Problems that plague advertising more times then none have to do with creating an identity for your company and maintaining it. Once you start you cant stop or you will be forgotten.

3. Advertising is 80% emotion and 20% intellect and essentially truthful but we need to be aware of political ad campaigns because the all might not be as trustworthy.

Monday, August 31, 2009

Assignment #2

Brand name: True religion

5 things that come to mind:
1. good quality denim
2. fits nice
3. cowboys
4.worth the price
5. large variety

My perception of this brand was shaped by fashion magazines and urban culture. in a lot of today's music artist reference true religion clothing as being a top name brand that a lot of celebrities wear and they exhibit great customer service with every purchase.

I compared what i said about True Religion jeans to Levi's and a few of my keywords were also given about Levi's. Levi brand jeans have a reputation for having good quality in denim and are a durable and reliable brand. They also have a cowboy style to them, and come in countless varieties. Some people said that Levi's are expensive which is the case for some styles, the same thing can be said for True Religions.

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

my favorite ad

This ad is one of my favorites for the simple fact that its corny but clever, and funny but also effective. This commercial appeals to young adults, middle aged adults, parents and all other people that care about whether or not their identity is being stolen i.e. every working class citizen. This was a very great way to get an important point across in a way that people enjoy watching and listening to. There are about 6 other free credit report commercials all of them just as funny and convincing as the one before it. I think this was a great idea to advertise identity theft by actually showing peoples misfortunes due to I.D. theft in a hilarious way.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

SAME BLOG, DIFFERENT LOCATION

Wats good world? This ya boy Q. The Roc Chronicles is moving its blog to a different site. http://www.rocchronicles.ning.com you will be able to make your own page, interact with others, share music, and photos. So everyone make this transition with us to the new blog. Thank You. God Bless

Sunday, March 8, 2009

what do you get from this situation? based on a true story with true events

COMMENTS WANTED!!!
im sorry guys if i seem to be takin over but u know how i get when we're on a break alot of things run thru my mind and when i would usually record a video imma just write it in the blog...plus i think if i addressed this issue in a video i would star feeling myself and become a lil unruly....but recently there was a hated discussion amongst some friends of mine that ended kinda shaky
just hear me out and tell me, what you get from the situation i just want to know does your interpretation match mine
but heres the senerio: every girl needs a block boy, in the end hints or jealousy seem to fuel the fued
characters: ike lo, felayna, b. asterix, geek ,O and reka

so ike lo and felayna decide to make a video expressing how everyone needs a block boy, felayna didnt exactly say that she needed a block boy but instead expressed that she needed ike lo who is a block boy...(kinda the same difference once u think about it though) so after felayna stated that fact ike lo proceeded to end the video by sayin and i quote, " see everybody everybody does need a block boy"...not the EXACT words but fuck all that this my post! lol... if felayna had any type of objection it should have be expressed then..right after ike lo said what he said instead it was left how it was and posteed on facebook. (now time for a lil side bar) if ike lo is a block boy and u DO need him as u clearly stated doesnt that mean u need a block boy?...be cause he is a block boy!... i think so..ok (back to our regularly scheduled programming.. b. asterix comments and says "i second that emotion" stating his agreeance to every girl needin a block boy... (oh yeah ike lo b asterix and geek are all block boys by the way) so felayna begins to jump off the deep end about how she doesnt need a block boy but she does need ike lo... this examplifies the beginning of the contradiction mind you this is such a petty subject to argue over but both parties begin to go all out and kinda insult one anothers prospective affiliations bickering about the money that either group has and what each group has done or will do and what not.
... movin right along

geek and O catch wind of the heated conversation between the two and at first just sit back and watch but once the integrity of the block boys becomes questioned they feel as though its time to jump in and kinda squash the entire situation reka also feels the same way representing the opposing group that felayna is affiliated with...now mind you block boys always stick together and never talk bad behind each others back if there's an issue to be addressed there is a sit down and all parties involved are present unlike the opposers where there are secret meeting held to address issuses about certain ppl in their group and alot of hubbub is steered up because of trivial he said she said.....but geek proceeds to enlighten both parties and kinda clear up the smoke by sayin that the statement isnt supposed to mean that u cant live,breath or function without a block boy, but simply that block boys are smart caring kind funny handsome gentlemen that girls are very attracted to and in an relationship they would be the appitomy of the perfect male companion... after that is cleared up felayna kinda shows her true colors by bringing up past conversations about there being a sister group to the block boys called the block girls now at first the block boys always said hell no to the thought of there being block girls because with girls come drama, but recently a nationally well known group of prestigeous young women dubbed themselves the block girls because of the recent social events they had been at with the block boys now this infuriated felayna and she sent out a text to her group members makin it known that this group of women now called themselves the block girls (how childish right?... depicts a hint of jealous correct?) only because felayna and her group were denied the right to name themselves block girls was this matter an issue but basically felayna began throwin shots at the block boys and how they are dick riders and how they are always up under their "groupies" and when asked what qualified as bein a groupie felayna said girls that always want to be around us... which kinda described her and her group of friends before the block boys began to branch out...then felayna and her group began to question how loyal the girls the block boys hang out with are to them sayin when they turn on the block boys they'll just run back to felayna and her group...which is sooo false because the new group of girls...aside from the block girls are much more loyal and more fun to hang out with then felayna and her group! geeks reason for allowing the prestigeous women to be block girls is because it is a good network and aquaintance to have in the long run and plus these women are much more classy then what felayna and her friends have portrayed (not sayin as women but just their way of handling certain situations)
still dont understand?..hers a few examples:
1.the prestigeous women would never even have held this conversation an a video on FB
2. the prestigeous women would never yell "fuck them!!" across a dining hall when the block boys decided to entertain a new group of women and not sit with felayna and her friends
3. the prestigeous women probably would never create a sprint account without the knowledge of their boyfriend to spy on his text and picture mail
4. the prestigeous women wouldnt have deleted the block boys as friends and probably would never have said fuck the block boys they probably wouldve sat down and addressed the issue in person like adults
5. the prestigeous women would talk behind each others backs then smile in each others face afterwards
there's more but im sure u get the point right?

but basically felayna ended with a simple fuck all the block boys and all she needed was her booski ike lo (who still is a block boy)....so basically doesnt that mean that felayna does need a block boy? thanks for listening
COMMENTS WANTED!!!!

-leek-

Saturday, March 7, 2009

a lesson on how to get bread!!

is it just me...or is anyone else sick and tired of those emoticons of the different type of friends you have!!... oh my gahd!!!... i looked at my profile the other day and i had a billion and three notifications because some chick was made that she was the slut or some cat was pissed that he was the goodie two shoes...i mean i dont understand...why is it so easy to get sucked into these fads?! do you realize that in less then a month everyone that has done one of those lil penguin things, or the lil ones that look like silly puddie, or the one with the fine white hoes has made the creator and every biter after them RICH AS HELL!!!! that goes to show u that there definitely is easy money out there u just gotta stop lookin so hard because its right in front of your face!!! in todays world its all about pathos!!! appealing to the audiences emotion!! america loves lil stupid things that they can get a kick out of or that they can really relate to another simple visible appeal that has gone along way is anything OBAMA!! I MEAN IF YOU WERE IN A STORE AND YOU SAW A CAN OF SARDINES WITH OBAMA ON THEM (even if you were allergic to fish) YOU WOULD BUY IT!!!!! lol proving my above point appeal to the audience and the money will make itself
-leek-

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

the first entry from our guest speaker Ian Miller

Aite...So how do I start???
Dis my first entry on da Roc Chronicles...Shout out to da Roc Boys!!!
Hopefully we can get dis rocchronicles shit to be da shit on dis crazy
thing they call da internet...real talk...
Sometimes niggas jus need a place to vent tho, ya dig??? About real
shit but it aint all gotta b serius... We all niggas, rite???(To all
non-black readers, yall my niggas too!!!)
When Mahlik told me I could share my thoughts on this prestigious
website(speaking in the future tense)my first thought was: "Who in
their right mind would let me share my thoughts with everybody???"
Thats yo real nigga tho... Wen he kno its prolly a bad idea but dats my
nigga so he was like FUCK IT!! Couldnt hurt!!!
BUt Im zonin rite now listenin to Charles Hamilton(if yu aint on it den
get on it) and he got me thinkin... What's wrong wit smoking weed???Its
da 3rd best thing in the world! Behind only #1) a fine black woman and
2)unexpected money... Its damnear better than unexpected money but if
yu eva ben broke as hell and found $5 then yu kno jus how gud
unexpected money can feel... U kno wat would prolly be a great
feeling!!! Finding $5 when yu broke and spendin it on weed!!! Dats
combining #2 and #3!! Nah, fuk dat.... Cuz wen u think about it , if yu
aint got no money and yu find $5 u prolly shouldnt spend it on weed...
But I digress,,,but wat is wrong wit weed??? It have yu feelin good,
yu'll neva be in himore creative!! For some reason I was payin
attention in history class and I heard they are thinking about
legalizing marijuana... At first thought, its a GREAT IDEA!!! Everybody
smoke weed so wen dey tax dat shit,l the economy comes right out of its
low point...Plus, wat nigga dont wanna b able to smoke a blunt rite in
front of da police?!? But realy think about wat legalizing dat shit
means... If weed gets legalized, unemployment skyrockets.lol. Plus we
all kno dem niggas who dont need to be high... If evrybody's high, shit
would be crazy... But at the same time, alcohol was the "weed" of its
time... Back a long time ago, there was alcohol prohibition, which, for
all the niggas like me who dont pay attention in history, means dat
shit wasnt allowed... Alcohol was weed before weed... But now its legal
and it still kills hella people every year, BUT it makes people feel
good so its legal... It seems like weed would be next logical thing to
be legalized if yu had to legalize sumtin... Da only thing I think that
would keep it from being legalized would be the fact that the
government couldnt lock niggas up for dat shit... But da government can
do wat dey want, so they'd prolly say yu couldnt sell weed without a
permit or sum shit...lol... Can yu imagine a world with weed permits???
Could be out\r future... Think about dat shit tho... Dats real shit
brought to yu by Ian...lol...BROs CRAZY!!!
-Ian-

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

What is going on the world?

I've been debatin on whether or not to write on this topic but FUCK IT. What in the hell is all you dudes thinking rocking these jeans from wet seals, these bike chains, and getting yo' lip pierced. Of course a lot of people gone be mad about what i say but i can care less. I think niggas was pushin' it when they started wearing fitted jeans but it wasnt that bad but now yall just say fuck it ima just wear skinny jeans. Why? Why would you want to do this to yourselves? And dont say you being yourselves because yall lying. This is my (Q) personal opinion. Every dude out here rocking these skinny jeans (not fitted) and getting they face pierced is cowards. If it was last year and Lil Wayne wasnt rockin' that shit yall wouldnt rock it either. Matter of fact I'm willing to bet if yall was to see a dude dressed like that yall would say he was a fag. Do you think its cool that you and yo' girl trade fits? I bet not one dude out there can give me a legit reason on why this cool. I could respect this if it was something genuine, something that they really wanted to do for a long time but the fact of the matter is its just not. There is no way in hell that half of the siuc campus and men everywhere else simultaneously had a genuine desire to get they faces pierced. I cant respect this movement and cant really respect men who follow it. Ladies, do you find this "movement" attractive? Can you honestly say you can feel safe if a dude with skinny jeans, a braw shirt, and pierced eyebrows walked you home at 12 at night? It's time to man up, go to man alive buy some jeans that fit you, buy a shirt that is worn by a male manican and take them damn rings out ya lips please. Again if i offended you, O' Well...we can discuss it and maybe come to some sort of understanding...but i doubt it.




-Q-



Tuesday, February 24, 2009

pleasing your man

well it took a while for me to come up with this topic when whole time it was right in front of my face. with V-day just passing a lot of girls were confused about what to get their guy i often hear things like guys are difficult to by things for and what not but in all actuality a man... let me rephrase that a REAL MAN isn't hard to buy things for. men love to be surprised its honestly the thought that counts if your man bitches and moans about not being pampered then he must be insecure or broke because why have yo girl buy you something when u should be able to buy it yourself. me personally i like for a girl to get me somethin that i can use to impress her i dont need you to buy me a full ass outfit or jewelry of course i wouldnt turn it down but i would rather u buy me some good ass cologne and tell me how good i smell all the time lol

another problem girls have been having is keepin their men around honestly the #1 ways to keep him is to NOT trip and to keep him guessin thats all for now but be on the look out for more post this week

-leek-

Friday, February 13, 2009

Whats wrong with the word bitch?

Why do women hate to be called Bitches? I hear females talk about how disrespect the word is and blah blah blah. Well yall just gone feel disrespected around me because i use the word bitch as a noun, adjective, pronoun, and adverb. This one girl asked would i call my momma a bitch or what if somebody called her a bitch. First, hell naw i wouldnt call my momma a bitch. Secondy, if somebody call her a bitch then she must be a bitch in they eyes. I mean of course I might be upset by it but thats their P.O.V. A person that is a bitch to you might not be to me it depends on what in your eyes makes someone a bitch. But ladies in your defense yall not the only bitches on the planet. It's some real bitch ass niggas out here too but thats a whole different topic for a different day. But i dont discriminate., i apply the word bitch to the old, the young, males, females, the rich, and the poor. Why get offended by my usage of the word? Quick question have you called yourself A Bad bitch? or have you or your friends refer to each other as bitches. If so dont get all tough when i call you one. And if you dance to a song where a rapper refer to females as bitches and you sing it and dance to it with no complaint dont say nothing if a dude grab on yo' ass and call you a bitch in the party. Look at it like this how many times do you hear men referred to as dogs by females (Dont waste yo time to even attempt to count)? Now its so dirty ass females out here to right? so they dogs. Now everybody do me a favor what does webster say a bitch is ? yea yea i know. So as long as we dogs yall bitches. Dont get me wrong i love all my bitches white, black, skinny, rotund, short and tall but it is what it is. Again, every girl might not be a Bitch but its definitely some bitches out there. If you not a bitch dont take offense, however is you so anxious to tell me off you dont even want to finish reading this post then yooouuuuu miiiiiight be a BITCH.

-Q-